Bugaboo

provided by Microsoft

Thank God for caller ID! How did we make it before this blessed invention? Take for instance at work in the case of my coworker, David. (The name has been changed to protect the innocent). Caller ID saves me from wasting time. Simply stated, David is a bugaboo. We all know them. Every time they want something, they call. This might be ok if they didn’t change their minds about the new something or other fourteen quadzillion times to only return to their original plan in the first place.

I’ve learned to identify David’s, my bugaboo, cycle. He’ll call. I might answer the first call – just for kicks. Then I know I’m at least going to get two voicemails, one email, and one face to face in the interim. Just about the fourth contact, he’s winding down and has probably made it full cycle. Only then do I answer his emails or return his phone calls. It’s no secret between us that I ignore him. In fact, it’s a running joke. I know he’s a bugaboo; he knows he’s a bugaboo; he knows that I know he’s a bugaboo.

Consequently, we finally have come to have a system. A bugaboo system if you will. And don’t get me wrong, I like David and he returns the sentiment but his poor organizational skills will not drive me crazy. When we fuss and fight, it always ends in a laugh. He knows I think he’s a slacker and disorganized. He tells me that I’m not his momma. Do I care? Certainly not. Will he change? Obviously not. In the end, will I let this bugaboo worry me? Definitely not.

‘Nuff said.

Leave a Reply

