Adele Adele Adele

Provided by Google Images

Some time ago, I was scrolling through the web.  I noticed a real-bodied, pretty, young lady.  She was dressed in a retro, funky way with a killer bouffant hairdo.  She had the fiercest nude nails too.  Guys, it’s a girl thing – don’t even try to figure that last one out.  Anyway, she was everywhere.  Adele, Adele, Adele.

Okay, fast forward to when I’m in my car and I can’t figure out for the life of me why this top 40 radio station keeps playing this country song.  It’s a country song with a killer kickbeat for days.  The singer has a raspy voice with a soulful and haunting layer to it.  Finally, I connected the dots to the lady I saw over the web to the voice I hear on the radio.  I begin to listen more carefully.

The result?  I walk into my local music store and buy the album.  Excuse me – her CD – showing my age there.  I go home, pop it into my laptop, plug my earphones in and listen.  Get.  Out.  This girl breaks my heart, makes me remember, gets me angry (Set Fire to the Rain – okay???), and makes me want to be in love right now.  While I love every song on her latest effort – and how many artists can you say that about? – my favorite has to be Rumors.  She has a mouthful of Janis Joplin, Bessie Smith and Etta J.  But my favorite line is from Turning Tables.  It goes, “Next time I’ll be braver, I’ll be my own savior…”

She’s not the typical singer of the day.  Her style is very singular, wistful and striking.  The result?  It’s like my great-grandmother would say, “She done got it and gone.”

4 thoughts on “Adele Adele Adele

  1. Ain’t she great? I love her, too. Currently, I’m in love with Someone Like You. OMG, that makes me cry. Every time I listen to that song I think of one guy in particular. Oh that sadness. LOL

    1. She is great. I heard she’s having throat surgery so I hope she’s alright. And too true, her lyrics make you remember – like it or not. Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

