Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol – A Movie Review

provided by Paramount Pictures

I lived at the movies last weekend.  The second movie I saw was the new MI:4.  Plot:  once again some crazy person has the bright idea of killing everyone in order to purify the earth.  The bad guy’s mission is to start another world war resulting in mass destruction.  They pin the bombing of the Kremlin on Ethan Hunt’s (Tom Cruise) team (Simon Pegg, Paula Patton and Jeremy Renner).  And of course, chaos ensues.

I don’t know what is was but I didn’t like this one as much as before.  Yes, there was action, good-looking T.C., his funny sidekicks, intense fight scenes and the oh-so-real stunts but something was still missing for me.

The latest installment even attempted to make Ethan more human and fallible.  And I approve of his new team.  But I didn’t leave there blown away as in the past.  Maybe it will be or was different for you.  Let me know.

6 thoughts on “Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol – A Movie Review

  1. I’m actually a little excited for this one. I’m not the hugest Tom Cruise fan, but I think director Brad Bird has done some really great things with animation and I’m curious to see how his style translates to live-action.

  2. I really enjoyed this movie and give it 4 out of 5 stars. For a popcorn action movie I thought it hit the nail on the head. The stunts had me on the edge of my seat (especially since I know Tom does most of them).

    My main thought coming out of the movie was that it has taken the place of James Bond. The new Bond films are dark and humourless. They are good movies, but have lost the cheeky humour and great gadgets that always made a Bond film fun.

    This movie had the amazing new BMW and an exotic beauty kicking ass right next to Tom. The only thing that bumped me was when Tom’s car goes in the water and in the next scene his hair is perfectly blow dried!

    1. Ha! Didn’t catch the dry hair part! Good point. I do agree about the Bond films – why so serious? Bond was known for being flip at the darnest of times. It was part of his charm.

      Thanks for the comment.

  3. I liked MI:4. I wished they used Simon Pegg more. I thought he was the real gem of this whole movie. I loved the scene where Tom Cruise was hanging outside of the hotel. That was crazy!!!! I read on IMBD that Jeremy Renner’s character will take over IF Tom Cruise decides not to come back at all. We’ll see how that goes.

Leave a Reply

