Waiting on Downton Place

provided by Masterpiece/PBS

Okay people!  Downton Abbey, season 2 starts January 8, 2012.  Happy, happy, joy, joy!  Season 1 won scads of awards and accolades – and rightfully so.  This is a rich drama set in pre-WWI.  It follows the ups and downs of the elite, the family of Earl Robert Crawley.  Oh, and not just his family offers high jinks – the staff does as well.

For those who do not know what I’m talking about, you can catch previous episodes online or maybe you’ve already began viewing them back on December 18th on your local station.  Either way, it will prime you for season 2.

I have the following burning questions which I hope are answered this time.  And yes, it is drama, a heaping of he-said-she-said and a whole lot of unrequited love.

*Are Mr. Carson and Mrs. Hughes really not going to become more than friends?  I sensed a spark after she turned down another suitor.

*Are John Bates and Anne going to overcome barriers to become and item?  Now, now, I know he’s married but the details of that are murky at best.  What is he hiding?  Why does he feel he’s so undeserving?

*Lady Sybil and Branson (the chauffeur mind you) had a little something-something going on.  A mild flirtation.  They both have that fiery and independent spirit.

*Will O’Brien be found out and booted or even charged?  She’s such a witch!

*I hope Gwen (the maid who was privately training to be a secretary – a big thing back then) gets the job she desperately wants.

*Will Daisy give William a chance?

*Will Lady Edith ever get married…to somebody…to anybody???

*Finally, will Lady Mary be brought down a notch or two and realize that Matthew Crawley is the best thing that has come into her life?

Let’s all stay tuned to see!

4 thoughts on “Waiting on Downton Place

  1. It’s so strange to think you guys over in the US haven’t seen series 2 of Downton yet- I live in the UK and I’m so sad it’s all over for another 9 months before it comes back on! You are in for a real treat, I promise! 🙂

    1. What??? You’ve already seen it? I am so jealous! Oh well, it will be on this Sunday and we’ll get to enjoy it. I’m glad to hear it’s as good as I hoped it would be. Thanks for the comment.

  2. I’m very curious about this show. I recently saw that it was available on instant Netflix. I don’t know much about the show, but I’ve heard a lot of people talking about it. I love trashy shows like Hotel Babylon, Portlandia, etc. I don’t think Downton Abby falls into that category, uh? LOL Maybe one day, I’ll watch it.

  3. Or just go to PBS and watch it online. I think you may get a kick out of it. It has a Jane Eyre type of feel to it but not exactly.

Leave a Reply

