Why We Women Love Hair Buns

Provided by Google Images
Provided by Google Images

First of all, this post is not scientific or based on some random poll.  The information below is based on my expert advice.  That’s right, expert.  Hey, I’m a woman and as far as I am concerned, that should be expert enough.

Ahem.  Why Women Love Hair Buns, by Dita Faulkner.  We love hair buns because:

Hair buns are useful.  You’re about to wash the car and don’t want to get your hair wet?  Put it in a bun!

Hair buns are our go-to hairstyle.  This is one of the best things to do with your coif on a bad hair day.  When I had longer hair (but not quite enough to put it all in a natural bun), I bought a clip-on bun.  I’d brush my hair back, positioned the bun just right, and then clip it in place with hair pins.  Nobody needed to know about the hot mess underneath but me.

Hair buns are pretty.  It’s the official I’m-going-to-a-wedding, I’m-in-a-wedding, or excuse-me-I’m-the-freaking-bride hairdo.  Why?  Because it’s so pretty – messy, coiled or on top.

Hair buns are powerful.  Have a presentation at 10am on Wednesday at one of your biggest accounts?  Slick your hair into a bun at the nape of the neck and put your black power suit on.  It commands respect and is oh-so stylish!

Finally, if you want to try a bun but don’t know how, don’t fret.  There are plenty of how-to videos out there.  Google it!  For those of us who don’t have enough hair of our own to twist into a bun, do what I did – buy one.  Just make a stop at your local wig shop.  They’re sold in all shapes, sizes and colors.

Leave a Reply

