Getting Back on the Wagon

SI am serious about trying to lose weight this time.  Uh hum too.  As a matter of fact, I’ve started out very well.  I’ve kept to my exercise schedule.  Yeah, yeah I know it’s just January 27th and I did only restart January 1st.  But it makes me wonder…when did I begin to loooooooooove food?  When younger, I liked food.  I even had my favorites – pasta and breads.  But you know, I’d eat and then go off to do whatever.  Now, after one meal, I’m thinking feverishly about what I’ll eat next time!

How big am I you ask?  I’ll bite – no pun intended.  I’m the size of most women in the U.S. – size 12-14.  But lo’ and behold, I’m the height of 5 foot 3!  Sigh.  So this is going to be it, huh?  A steady battle with my frienemy food.  It’s so funny because in the past, I would try trick myself too.  Sometimes, after I’m so bad, guess what I’d do?  Honey, get on the treadmill and drink four cups of water!  Ha!  How’s that for living?  Bet that will cancel all those bad boy calories out!  Don’t laugh, it’s all I got.

Anyway, yes I love me and I love my body.  So there, it’s not that.  I don’t think a person’s IQ goes down as their poundage goes up.  If that were the case, I would have a serious problem.  It’s like this; I don’t want to be Skinny Minnie.  That was never a sexy look to me anyway.  I just want to be able to tie my shoes without my breath being cut off.  Or not have a waist that jiggles so much that it looks like I’m dancing when I’m just walking.  But most of all, I guess I think about my father.  I want to do better than him.  I don’t want to die at the early age of 53 brought on by severe complications from diabetes.

This year I’ll be 44.

So, here I go.  Again.  Gettin’ back on the wagon.

Leave a Reply

