OCCUPY TELEVISION!!!

Image by Microsoft
Image by Microsoft

Before I begin this article, let me first say that I have loved TV from since I could remember.  I believe it all started with Sesame Street, then cartoons (Popeye, Bugs Bunny and The Superfriends were my favorites).  Next, I graduated to The Little Rascals and Leave it to Beaver reruns.

My family teased me about my love of TV.  If I was into a program, you could do nothing short of give birth or set yourself on fire before getting my attention.  At first, this embarrassed me and I would deny that it was true.  I was not a TV-aholic!  But alas, the first step to recovery is admitting you have a problem or that you don’t have a life.  So I’m here to say…Good morning.  My name is Dita and I am a TV-aholic.

I thought nothing could separate me from one of the loves of my life.  Not until in recent years with the gamut of trash put out by the powers that be, that is.  You know what I’m talking about.  You can’t ignore them because they’re everywhere – Housewives of This or That, Snookie ‘Nem, Ba-Ba Kids and Love, Hip-Hop and Thugs Galore.  If I see one more fight with hoochie mammas and baby daddies!  And I could of bet you good money that Jerry Springer was cancelled, but as of the publishing date of this article, nope!  And that guy that comes on who scours the web for the most ridiculous, nastiest and foulest videos ever?  Ugh!  I purposely don’t use his name because knowing him, he’d probably love it.

And even the children’s cartoons are weird and downright obnoxious.  And before anyone asks the question – How does she know if she wasn’t watching these shows herself – it’s because I was watching these shows!  At least momentarily…that’s how I know they are so bad and horribly awful.  What can I say, curiosity got the best of me but common sense ruled.  Click.

What just happened?  People, that is the sound we should make to let the puppetmaster know that we have a brain, morals and class.  So when their stations produce programming worthy of our attention and time, then we’ll check back with them and not before.

Occupy TV, ya’ll.

Leave a Reply

