What I’m Watching on TV

When I realized that I hadn’t written an entertainment piece in a while, I began to think about what was good on TV. I don’t know about anybody else, but I’ve grown weary of the programming that many are flocking to. As a matter of fact, I’ve found myself in a veritable mixed bag of nuts as far as my TV choices go.

HOW

Hell on Wheels – AMC

I love Cullen Bohannon (Anson Mount). You know one of the things I like the most about him? Honey, when he says, ‘c’mon!’ Let’s just say I like the sexy, one-syllabled, country-styled way that he utters it.

How I hate that this season is the last, but so far, that doesn’t mean the story line is suffering. I’m on my toes guessing still. Where are his wife and child? He’s already lost his first family. Please let this man have his dream of peace, a family, a dog, and beautiful house by the beach. I want this so badly for him.

But I’m wondering about the new female character, Mei. Due to the outbreak of war and avoidance of an unwanted marriage, she’s forced to run from her home in Asia to America, cross-dress like she’s a boy and work like a man. Where does she fit in all of this? You know Cullen and her will become closer before it’s all over with.

DevMaids

Devious Maids – Lifetime

I couldn’t see how they were going to continue this show after season one ended, but every week I am frantic if I haven’t set my DVR for eight o’clock on Monday nights. It gets twistier and twistier. Yep, I actually wrote that.

Carmen (Roselyn Sanchez) is sleeping with the husband of the record producer she’s trying to impress; Zoila (Judy Reyes) is pregnant by her dead husband so her fiancé walks out on her at the alter; Marisol’s (Ana Ortiz) mysterious, gun-toting boyfriend has possibly broken up with her and never mind that he was once her maid; Rosie (Dania Ramirez) had just left her hot husband for her even hotter husband (watch the show to get the meaning of that)! Whew! Funny, ridiculous, and just plain fun!

Poldark2

Poldark – PBS Masterpiece Theatre

PBS slays me!

I so love PBS for a zillion reasons but I’ll just share one of them at present…Poldark. This is the new series on Masterpiece Theatre. The character Ross Poldark (played by Aidan Turner) is brooding, dark, and sexy. He’s really of the blue-blood stock but rebels on every level against it.

He’s prideful and stubborn but with high morals and a big heart. Sigh and swoon! He even rolls up his sleeves and works in the copper mine he owns; he marries his pretty kitchen maid, and doesn’t seem ashamed of it at all. So when his friend accidently kills his wife, of course he helps him escape. And when a ship wrecks on the shores of his estate, of course he rounds all of his workers and villagers – who are poor – and encourages them to pick up the food and goods washed up shore. Of course this means drama! And of course, this means I’ll tune in next season to see where this picks up!

5 thoughts on “What I’m Watching on TV

  1. OMG I did not know you were a Hell On Wheels fan too! Had I known we could have been discussing this show a long time ago! I’ve watched this show since season one and have been addicted to it ever since! And Anson Mount….hunny he is just EVERYTHING! I love that southern drawl, I love those eyes, I love everything about him!! I too want him to find that peace and happiness that have alluded him since losing his first family in the war, and continuously losing the people he loves and care about sense! UGH! If he doesn’t get a happy ending it’ll CRUSH ME!

    1. And you know how nowadays everything has to be so dark too. It’s like, please give the man some peace! I was hoping for him and the Asian lady but now his wife is back into the picture – and she has his child. Argh! I don’t know…

      1. The attraction between him and the Asian girl is definitely there. But the focus is definitely going to shift back to his wife and son. You are so right about everything being so dark. The man deserves some peace and happiness in his life. He’s one of the most tormented characters I’ve seen on tv in a very long time and you can’t help but root for him. I really hope the Swede gets what he deserves and Cullen is able to take his family away and start a new life in peace. Forget that stinkin railroad man!! It’s time for him to move on from that.

      2. Indeed. The crazy Swede needs to be put out of his misery, for real tho! And you know when they were announcing this past season would be the last season, then all of a sudden it’s coming back on in 2016?? Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m glad, but that was odd. I loved me some Common on there too. He got to stretch his acting chops…

      3. Season 5 really is their final season, but they split the 14 episodes in half and will be airing the second half in the summer of 2016. That makes my butt itch and I think that is soooo STUPID and unfair to the fans of the show! It’s the final season so show it ALL! Why not show the rest in December – why wait until the following summer when people will have forgotten what happened in the beginning of the season? I also miss Common on the show. His character was very integral with Cullen’s and the freedmen. Watching him and Cullen’s friendship grow over time was a beautiful thing to see.

Leave a Reply

