Nine Movies I Loved in 2016

So 2016 is like so over, she said in her best Valley Girl voice, but I still wanted to post about my favs in cinema. Now while I didn’t get to see every movie I wanted to see (Queen of Katwe comes to mind), I wanted to take time to pay homage to 2016’s special 9, especially since tonight is Oscar night. Hey, the Academy has theirs and I have mine.

Without further ado, my list from 9 to 1, 1 being the best, of course.

9.moana

Moana – I love animation! And Disney just did their thing in this one – great story line, masterful artwork, and it didn’t hurt that Dwayne Johnson lent his voice-chops too.

8.captain-america-civil-war

Captain America: Civil War – When I first heard that the Super Heroes were going to be fighting against one another in this film, I was just livid, people! Livid, I say! I’m thinking, is this where they are going to kill everybody off and end with doom and gloom?!? Even though I had my reservations, I just had to go and find out for myself and it was waaay better that I thought. And it did leave a little light at the end of the tunnel too.

7.

duu5ydyemiiuiovqnatwmhutbrm

Zootopia – On first glance, I thought this was just going to be another fun animation movie. But Zootopia is a movie with a message. I won’t tell all, but everyone needs to go see this. While it is very entertaining, it’s very relevant to what’s going on today.

6.

thejunglebook2016

The Jungle Book – Wow. CGI at its finest. Plus lending their voices were veteran actors like Christopher Walken and Bill Murray…again, wow. Lastly, dang it, I want to be Mowgli! I mean, who doesn’t want to stroll through life in your skivvies, laying around, no responsibilities, and playing with animals all day? Sign me up!

5.

love-and-friendship

Love and Friendship – I love art films and I love Jane Austen. So when I learned that this film was an adaptation of Jane Austen’hs novella Lady Susan, well, I was there. Didn’t disappoint.

4.

rogue-one-poster

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story – Girl Power!!! Jyn Erso is a baaaad – Shut yo’ mouth! Just talkin’ ‘bout Jyn Erso! I thought I knew what was going to happen in this story and it really surprised me several times. It made you feel for the characters and care for them. That’s really saying something for a Star Wars film where usually characters are coming at you so fast it’s really hard to keep up, let alone develop an attachment for them.

3.

fences

Fences – Real. Life. A dream deferred. What it can do to you and others if you let it. Powerful.

2.

loving-pic

Loving – based on the life of the real couple, Richard and Mildred Loving. Richard was white and Mildred was black. This is another art film. It moves slowly, softly, and gently. But I began to realize the tone of the film was the way the Lovings actually were. They just wanted to love each other and be left alone to their country, simple way of life. Bravo.

1.

hiddenfigures

Hidden Figures – Talk about black history! The world learnt a lesson and African Americans did too! The great minds behind the first landing on the moon were revealed and it’s not who you think it is. Go see it if you haven’t already.

Leave a Reply

